Martin Edwards
Martin Edwards is the author of eighteen novels, including the Lake District Mysteries and the Harry Devlin series. The Coffin Trail was shortlisted for the Theakston’s Prize for Crime Novel of the Year, while All the Lonely People was nominated for the John Creasey Memorial Dagger for best first crime novel.

His genre study The Golden Age of Murder has won the Edgar, Agatha, Macavity, and H.R.F. Keating awards. He has edited thirty crime anthologies, has won the CWA Short Story Dagger, the CWA Margery Allingham Prize, and the Red Herring award, and is series consultant for the British Library’s very successful series of Crime Classics.

In 2015, he was elected eighth President of the Detection Club, an office previously held by G.K. Chesterton, Agatha Christie, and Dorothy L. Sayers. In 2017, he also became Chair of the Crime Writers’ Association, and is the only person to have held both posts at the same time.

The Dungeon House

Latest Novel

Martin’s latest novel is The Dungeon House:

‘A wonderful, absorbing read: a crime deeply rooted in the past, a beautifully evoked sense of the Lake District…DCI Hannah Scarlett is a fine creation and it’s good news that we can look forward to seeing more of her in the future.’
Peter Robinson, Edgar Award winner