Kate Ellis

Kate Ellis

Kate Ellis was born and brought up in Liverpool and studied drama in Manchester. She is now married with two grown up sons and lives in North Cheshire. She worked in teaching, marketing and accountancy, none of which she particularly enjoyed, before discovering that writing crime fiction was what she’d wanted to do all along!

Before ‘turning to crime’ she first enjoyed literary success as winner of the North West Playwrights Competition in 1990. Her keen interest in history and archaeology features strongly in her books. Described by The Times as ‘a beguiling author who interweaves past and present’ she has written eighteen novels featuring black archaeology graduate, DI Wesley Peterson and his Liverpool-born boss DCI Gerry Heffernan and four crime novels with a supernatural twist featuring DI Joe Plantagenet (as well as a stand alone historical mystery, The Devil’s Priest, set in Tudor Liverpool which is now available on Kindle). She also writes short stories and has been shortlisted twice for the CWA Short Story Dagger and also for a Barry Award in the USA.

Her latest Wesley Peterson novel is The House of Eyes and her latest in the Joe Plantagenet series is Walking by Night. Her stand alone novel set in the aftermath of the First World War, A High Mortality of Doves, will be published in November 2016.


The Merchant’s House 1998(published by Piatkus)
The Armada Boy 1999“   “
An Unhallowed Grave 1999“   “
The Funeral Boat 2000“   “
The Bone Garden 2001“   “
A Painted Doom 2002“   “
The Skeleton Room 2003“   “
The Plague Maiden 2004“   “
A Cursed Inheritance 2005“   “
The Marriage Hearse 2006“   “
The Devil’s Priest 2006available on Kindle)
The Shining Skull 2007(published by Piatkus/Little Brown)
The Blood Pit 2008“   “
Seeking the Dead 2008“   “
A Perfect Death 2009“   “
Playing with Bones 2009“   “
The Flesh Tailor 2010“   “
The Jackal Man 2011“   “
Kissing the Demons 2011(published by Crème de la Crime/Severn House)
The Cadaver Game 2012(published by Piatkus/Little Brown)
Watching the Ghosts 2012(published by Crème de la Crime/Severn House)
The Shadow Collector 2013(published by Piatkus/Little Brown)
The Shroud Maker 2014“   “
The Death Season 2015“   “

For more details please visit Kate’s website www.kateellis.co.uk

Back to Home Page

Home Page

Latest News





Contact us

Murder squad logo John Baker Chaz Brenchley Ann Cleeves Martin Edwards Kate Ellis Margaret Murphy Stuart Pawson Chris Simms Cath Staincliffe

Ann Cleeves

Martin Edwards

Margaret Murphy

Cath Staincliffe

Kate Ellis

Chris Simms


Chaz Brenchley

Stuart Pawson

John Baker